Posted in My thoughts on..., Writings

TWENTIETH

…And another year has passed. Surely, time flies by really fast. I am already in my 20s and another memory was collected along the way.

A week      or two weeks       before my birthday, my parents were asking me what I want to do on my birthday, or what I want to get as my birthday present. But I cannot give a proper answer since I, myself, do not know what I want to do on my twentieth. When I was little, I was always excited for Christmas and my birthday since I get presents but when I turned 18, I felt like it is not what I wanted anymore.Honestly, I am not a materialistic person. Simple things make me happy. For example, if you just remembered my birthday and greeted me, or put in the time and effort to make me happy. Simple thoughts, simple acts, the little things. Nowadays, it is the non-material things that make me smile.

25-January-2017

On the day of my birthday when I woke up, I found a present on my study table on top of my Pathology textbook. I was kind of hesitant to open it. I don’t want to be too excited because I tend to jinx myself whenever I do that. Though I have an idea, I still do not want to assume because if it is not what I expected it to be, it will only be frustrating.

16326726_1255020727866897_641076641_o16325838_1255020741200229_1563427283_o

To be honest, I was not really expecting anything from them. I thought they will just ask me to go shopping since I did not tell them what I wanted (but I told my sister that I kind of wanted a polaroid). I did not know that she was going to tell them and actually buy one for me. I felt happy and excited. So, on that day I was really excited to come to school. It was an enough birthday present for me actually, I could not ask for more. But just when I was not expecting anything …

16326275_1255019541200349_1927831660_o

Okay, the present does not end there. One was enough for me, but I got another one, or two from my friends. We decided to do a potluck in school to celebrate my birthday, again (I’ll talk about the other one later). So, yeah we did a potluck, I brought sushi, my friends brought fruits, ddeokbokki (Korean spicy/sweet rice cake), and cake. Who would have thought they would actually bring cake. So, I came to school around 12:30 – 1 pm. I was so excited to eat already but my friend, Danita told me “Chloie, I’ll just grab something from the car” and my response was “Sure, go ahead.” I thought she will just grab her food from her car but when she came back, she brought a huge black bag with something big inside and she gave it to me. AGAIN, I WAS NOT EXPECTING ANYTHING.

16251539_1255018997867070_871283817_o

For sure, you guys can clearly see from the picture above what was inside the huge black bag. I was speechless because I never thought they would give me a huge Teddy Bear on my birthday. I LOVE TEDDY BEARS! I recalled a day when my parents asked if I wanted a watch or a Teddy Bear, with no hesitations I answered a Teddy Bear. I will NEVER EVER switch my Teddy Bear for something else. But back on track, yeah I was speechless. I have a video that my friend took while I was opening the black bag but I looked hella ugly so sorry, nope.

If you notice, I was also holding that minion candy holder (it sings too), I got it from my friend, Kim Bok Joo. She told me her reason as to why she bought it for me but I think it is best if I keep it to myself. We enjoyed the food, and we were all full before going to our lab. But hey, food tastes better if you eat with your friends.

16325636_1255019501200353_1038275504_o
Red Velvet Cake

Okay, so I mentioned earlier that I was having my birthday celebration with my friends AGAIN. Yeah again, because Friday the 20th of January, I celebrated it with my friends already with some new friends. I did not want to celebrate my birthday on my actual birthdate because we have a midterm the next day, but obviously we still celebrated and I did not even study for my midterm. Going back on track, my early birthday celebration was spent on the south side of Edmonton because we decided to play Escape and also because I have never tried it before, it was my first time. But first, we went to Popeye’s to eat chicken. I do not usually go to the south side because it is too far and my dad does not really like driving to far places. So going there felt like a long drive to me. Anyway, so we went to Popeye’s but there were a lot of people so we decided to eat at my friend’s house (Aleksi’s house). We stayed at her house for an hour or two, not sure I forgot. We ate and I played the video game Tekken once, but I guess I am not born as a gamer so I lost.

Now, my Escape experience story-telling starts. The place we went to is called Escape Emporium. You go into a room and find codes, open the locks, and try to escape. I was really excited since it is my first time. I always wanted to go on one but none of my friends were willing to come with me. We went to the Vampire themed room. I was expecting it to be a big room but it was small and dark. We were only given 45 minutes to escape. I guess I was too excited so when it started, I felt panicky. I was following my friend because I do not have a flashlight (and we don’t have enough). I did not even know what I was looking for, and where to look for it. Fastforward to 10 minutes or less that was left on the clock, we were trying to solve the last lock. I have no idea how to solve it and we already gave up but they gave us one more clue to do math. I think there were only 2 minutes, or a minute left when they gave us the clue. I guess since we were all in panic mode (I guess it was just me), we were unable to do math but I jumped in and solved it. With only seconds left, we opened the last lock and I was surprised there was another room. I thought it was over but they gave us 10 more minutes to try to open the other door to escape. Again, there were locks that needs a code, and there were numbers everywhere. I was just blank the whole time. I felt like my brain was so drained that it cannot function normally anymore. There was one station where we need to get the ball out of a cage but like they say “desperate times call for desperate measures” so we cheated. We used a stick to take the ball out from the cage and we did. In the end, we opened the door but we ran out of time. Though I felt tired after, I enjoyed the game with my friends and new friends. I really had a great time. It was an another first-time for keeps. 

dscn9300

dscn9302

After the game, we went back to my friend’s house to clean up and pack up. I still have work the next day so I have to go home early and sleep early. I wanted to stay but I can’t. My friend drove me home, but since I was too tired I fell asleep in the car. And when I got home, I could not sleep anymore. I guess I was too happy. So, I went to work the next day like a walking zombie.

“You can go your whole life collecting days, and none will outweigh the one you wish you had back” (quoted by Mitch Albom). Indeed, it is true. Time can never be reversed. Never. The only thing we can do is cherish every moment, every second of our life. Time is a precious gift. We can never rewind the moments but the memories remain.

I have always been grateful and thankful to God for waking me up in the morning. And on my twentieth, the first thing I did was thank Him for giving me another year of my life. I feel satisfied. Though I did not have a big party, I was given a chance to celebrate my special day with the special people in my life. My life may not be perfect, I may not have things (material or non-material) that other people has, but I am thankful for everything I have. I am content. I am happy.

I am happy because I am content.

I thank God for blessing me a great family. For giving me such great friends. This is one unforgettable birthday celebration that happened in my last twenty years. Never had more than one surprise on my birthday.

On my twentieth, I realized I was blessed. Big time. It was not the material gifts that made me entirely happy on my special day. It was the people who made my day special and extraordinary. It was their thought and effort to make me happy on my birthday. It was the time spent with them that is worth for keeps. I am more than thankful to have those people around me.

One unforgettable day. Thank you!

16357794_1255018567867113_2090584350_o
Thank you for all these gifts! Really appreciate it!
Leave a Reply

